Church of Sant Cristòfol

Votes
12345
Photo of Church of Sant Cristòfol in Camprodon

The first documentary evidence of the parish church of Sant Cristòfol dates back to the end of the 10th century. Nevertheless, the church we see today is a very typical example of 12th century Romanesque architecture. The church is large with a slightly pointed barrel-vaulted nave strengthened with two main arches. The chevet is composed of a semicircular apse and two rectangular chapels that flank the wide presbytery. The square bell tower is located on the south façade, composed of a blind base and four floors. Inside the church there is a wonderful 2.7-m high wooden carving. The iconography of this carving of Christ in Majesty is in keeping with models of the eastern school, specifically the Syrian school, where Christ wears a long tunic and sleeves. One theory suggested by historians is that the Majesty of Beget was one of the carvings produced by a workshop in Ripoll in the 12th century. Inside, visitors can observe the 14th century Gothic alabaster altarpiece of Our Lady of Beget, along with baroque altarpieces and a Romanesque baptism font.

The church was declared a national monument in 1931. It has remained largely unchanged since the baroque period. And thanks to the protection of the town's inhabitants it was saved from destruction during the Spanish Civil War.

Contact

Church of Sant Cristòfol
17867 Camprodon (El Ripollès)

Telephone: (+34) 972 740 936
E-mail:
Website: www.valldecamprodon.org

Twitter